Race to Nowhere: Resources

    1551
    0

    RESOURCES

     

    Websites:

    Commonwealth Parenting – www.commonwealthparenting.org

    Race to Nowhere – www.racetonowhere.com

    The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry – www.aacap.org

    Hold Hope – www.holdhope.org

    Regional Drug Free Alliance – www.drugfreealliance.org

    The Partnership for a Drug Free America – www.drugfree.org

    Join Together – www.jointogether.org

    Teen Drug Abuse – www.teendrugabuse.org

    Students First – www.studentsfirst.org

    Henrico County School Board – Henrico.k12.va.us/SchoolBoard/

    Henrico County’s Too Smart 2 Start Coalition – www.toosmart2start.com

    Chesterfield County School Board- chesterfield.k12.va.us/CCPS/school_board/board.htm

    Richmond School Board – newweb.richmond.k12.va.us/administration/school-board/

    The Education Conservancy – www.educationconservancy.org

    The National Center for Fair and Open Testing – www.fairtest.org

     

    Books:

     

    • ·      The Blessing of a Skinned Knee and The Blessing of a B- by Wendy Mogel, Ph.D
    • ·      The Price of Privilege by Madeline Levine, Ph.D.
    • ·      Positive Pushing by Jim Taylor, Ph.D
    • ·      The Hardest Questions Aren’t on the Test by Linda Nathan
    • ·      The Hurried Child by David Elkind
    • ·      Boys and Girls Learn Differently by Michael Gurian
    • ·      A Whole New Mind by Daniel Pink
    • ·      The Case Against Homework by Sara Bennett and Nancy Kalish
    • ·      Doing School by Denise Pope
    • ·      How to Raise a Drug-Free Kid by Joseph Califano
    • ·      The Biggest Job We’ll Ever Have: The Hyde School Program for Character-Based Education and Parenting by Laura and Malcolm Gauld
    • ·      Raising Resilient Children and Raising a Self-Disciplined Child: Help Your Child Become More Responsible, Confident, and Resilient by Dr. Robert Brooks and Sam Goldstein

     

     

    Panelists:

     

    Lamont BagbyHenrico County School Board

    Chair, Too Smart 2 Start Coalition

    lbagby@henrico.k12.va.us

     

    Alex Slusherwww.holdhope.org
    Rick McKeelExecutive Director, Regional Drug Free Alliance

    rick.mckeel@drugfreealliance.org

    www.drugfreealliance.org

     

    Anthony F. Vitiello, Ph.D.Licensed Clinical Psychologist

    Associated Psychological Services, P.C.

    (804) 741-1177

    dr.vitiello@verizon.net